The Syrian interior mininister scolds protestors in Damascus

The news has spread around blogs and a few news wires that around 1500 people gathered in front of the Interior Ministry in Damascus to ask for the release of a man who got into a fight with a policeman over a traffic incident and was arrested and beaten up.

A video of the demonstration showed up on youtube:

The really weird thing about this, as Angie says, is the conversation between the protesters and the minister.

“Shame on you – this is a demonstration.”

[As in “Gotcha! Asking for your rights, huh? You weasels, you know it’s forbidden. Mortal sin.”]

“No, no, this isn’t a demonstration!”, the protestor tried to convince him.
As in “OMG, please don’t kill us!”

As my editor says: this can only happen in Syria.

It reminds me of conversation I used to have with my grandma.
” Shame on you. You ate the whole jar of jam, didn’t you? You’ll get diabetes from all the sugar. ”
“No, I didn’t. It wasn’t me.” I used to answer, although my face was all sticky with apricot jam.

About View over Beirut

For all the stories left unwritten.
This entry was posted in Beirut, protests, Syria. Bookmark the permalink.