The wind of change – memories of a revolution

I was just a little girl when the Berlin Wall fell. Then I saw a revolution on television when I was 10 years old in my own country. I also saw an execution live on television on Christmas day. My parents let me watch it. They had no idea children shouldn’t be allowed to watch that because they weren’t used to watch tv anyway. The national TV station only aired in the evenings a newscast praising the almighty ruler, the just, the wonderful, the one and only president. I was 10 years old and I was almost brainwashed into believing all that crap, they had taught me in school that the regime was the greatest, that there was no better country in the world, they had taught me their tortured history, they had taught me their dead language, they had enrolled me in their scouts. My parents would lock me out in the livingroom for me not to see they were listening to Radio Free Europe and tell my classmates at school.
And then it happened. I was reading “The Hobbit” – a rare book at the time, a forbidden book. I had found it in the library and borrowed it without knowing what I was doing.- when people took the streets in the capital, took over the national TV station and started broadcasting revolutionary messages, when unknown assailants who were never identified in 22 years started shooting at the crowds, when the dictator ran away, was caught, tried in a mock trial for a genocide which had never happened, sentenced to immediate death and shot dead to appease the people.

Our revolution in 1989 was on TV. Your revolutions are on twitter and Facebook.

Whose work are they? CIA’s? The US trying to spread democracy or to prevent it from spreading? I read hundreds of opinions.

But you know what’s important after all? That after 20 years, you’re going to be better off. The kids born after 1990 don’t give a flying crap anymore about the life before 1989. And that’s going to happen with the children born after 2011 in Egypt. This is the wind of change.

Here’s a song dedicated to the revolutionary Arab people.

And here’s a movie about the fall of the Berlin Wall that everybody should see.

When you have similar regimes, you get similar revolutions.

Over and out.

About View over Beirut

For all the stories left unwritten.
This entry was posted in bahrain, Beirut, Egypt, Iran, protests, Syria, View over Beirut. Bookmark the permalink.