How the Syrian “day of rage” was dodged

Article in Christian Science Monitor.

Of course, there is no byline on the piece.

And here’s a good analysis by Ammar Abdulhamid, a Syrian activist living in Washington. Why Syria is not ready for a day of rage.

I’d report on the other side’s views and link to them, if there were any.

My experience on Friday reporting on the developments in Damascus was a little freaky. I was called names by supporters of the regime just because I was asking questions. I was told it was normal. That this is what you usually get when you’re reporting on Syria. Maybe I am wrong to report on that, who knows? And because I am such a lousy reporter they have to mention my parents’s sexual organs on my Facebook wall. And I should think it is normal.

Syrian diaspora protesting in Paris on Sunday.

In the meantime, it seems that the Syrians in exile succeeded in gathering in a few capitals.
“We participated with the Egyptians, Tunisians, Algerians, Amnesty international and the the left parties in France in a huge demonstration in Paris that marched from Place de la republique to Place de l’Opera to L’eglise de la Madeleine. There were like 4,000 participants according to the organizers. It was a very successful day yesterday for us. A member in Amnesty said that: “It’s the first time in the history of Paris and France that a big group of Syrians go out in the streets of Paris and shout for the removal of the Syrian regime.”

About View over Beirut

For all the stories left unwritten.
This entry was posted in Beirut, Egypt, Lebanon, protests in Egypt, Special Tribunal for lebanon, Syria, View over Beirut. Bookmark the permalink.